2021 Toby Webb Outstanding Coach Award Winners Named

The Toby Webb Outstanding Coach Award is presented annually to one Male and one Female coach with a minimum of 10 years of experience who have made outstanding contributions to the success of high school athletics at the school, in the community and beyond. The award is named for Toby Webb, an outstanding coach, principal and superintendent from Albemarle. Winners receive a $2000 cash stipend.


Dee Hardy has spent 34 years at E.E. Smith High School, where she has served as the head coach for women’s basketball and volleyball, and as an assistant coach for track and field. During her tenure as the head basketball coach, she has seen over 70 girls go on to play at the collegiate level.  Coach Hardy has served on the board of directors for the North Carolina Coaches Association and with the UNC Pembroke Hall of Fame Committee for several years. Coach Hardy was inducted into the Fayetteville Area Sports Club Hall of Fame in 2011 and had the gym floor at E.E. Smith named in her honor in 2018.

TOBY WEBB OUTSTANDING MALE COACH – John Kirby – Eastern Alamance High School

John Kirby has been at Eastern Alamance for 35 years, serving the role as head football coach for the past 30 years. Coach Kirby serves on the Corrigan Faircloth National Football Foundation Chapter as a Board Member. The foundation awards scholarships based on academic prowess and athletic accomplishments. Coach Kirby has also served as the wrestling coach and is currently the Athletic Director at Eastern Alamance.