2020 NCHSAA 1A/2A Indoor Track Championship


WINSTON-SALEM, NC – The North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) held the 2020 3A Indoor Track and Field State Championships at the JDL Fast Track to close out the indoor season. Cummings women won their second straight team title and 11th all-time. Meanwhile the Atkins men nipped North Lincoln 58-51 to earn the program’s first Indoor team championship. 

Kendall Jordan won both the long jump and the triple jump, helping lead Cummings to the team title. She spanned 18’10” with her best performance in the long jump. Then in the triple jump she skipped 38’11” to the victory. Jordan was named the Most Outstanding Performer in the women’s meet for her exploits.

The men’s Most Outstanding Performer award went to Reidsville’s Savion Thompson who also won the long jump and triple jump events. Thompson leapt 23’1.5” in the long jump for the win. He jumped 45’6.5” on his way to victory in the triple jump. 

Other notable performers in the women’s meet included a trio of individuals that set new 1A/2A meet records. Sarah Brown from Surry Central won the pole vault with a new classification meet record of 12’00”, besting her record from a year ago of 11’6”. In the 55 meter hurdles, Alyssa Thompson Rowe from Lexington raced to a time of 7.99 seconds to eclipse the time of 8.03 seconds set in 2017 by Kayla Moore from Cummings. Then in the 55 meter dash, Kayla Smith from Lincolnton posted 7.03 seconds, blasting past the previous classification record of 7.17 seconds set by Allysia Farrar from Cummings last year.

On the men’s side there were also three new classification meet records established to close the year. Jake Soorus from North Lincoln extended the best shot put throw to 55’6.5”, besting the previous record of 54’9” set by Magnus Herweyer from Carrboro in 2016. Jenoah McKiver T.W. Andrews won the 500 meter dash with a time of 1:06.08, clipping the old record in the event of 1:06.15 set by Derrick Puryear from T.W. Andrews in 2016. Atkins’ Ben Armentrout paced to a time of 9:28.22 in the 3200 meter run, besting the mark of 9:31.89 set by Erick Ramirez-Ramos from Surry Central in 2019.

There were a few other notable individual winners including Angie Allen from North Lincoln who claimed victory in the women’s 1600 meter and 3200 meter runs, posting times of 5:12.96 and 11:27.23 respectively. In the men’s competition Cameron Attucks from Atkins helped the Camels bring home the team title by winning the 55 meter dash in a time of 6.47 seconds. 

The NCHSAA is committed to recognizing outstanding sportsmanship in all of our championship sports. The Association has partnered with North Carolina Farm Bureau Insurance to recognize two outstanding athletes who have exemplified sportsmanship throughout the 2019-2020 season. The Sportsmanship Award winners for the 1A/2A Women’s Meet were Allysia Farrar from Cummings and Alyssa Thompson-Rowe from Lexington. The Sportsmanship Award winners for the 1A/2A Men’s Meet were Atkins’ Cameron Attacks and North Lincoln’s Alex Wulforst.