2014 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational

            RALEIGH– The 12th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships are scheduled for Saturday at the Raleigh Convention Center.

            A total of 133 teams have registered to compete in the event, featuring 2,346 cheerleaders.

            Competition will be held in 12 different categories. The doors open at 7:30 am and competition will begin at nine o’clock Saturday morning.

            The Carolina Cup will also be awarded based on the scores achieved in the competition. Cheer Ltd., Inc., an NCHSAA corporate partner that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. The team that earns the highest cumulative score among varsity teams during the invitational championship earns the Cup.

            Cornelius W.A. Hough won the Cup last year with a score of 130.8 points. 

            Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons is the only school to win two Carolina Cups, earning the honor in 2007 and ‘12. Other winners include Apex Middle Creek in 2013, Ledford in 2010, Raleigh Millbrook in 2009, Jamestown Ragsdale in 2008, North Gaston in 2006 and Raleigh Sanderson took the Cup in its inaugural year in 2005.

            Time Warner Cable SportsChannel is the presenting sponsor for the invitational championships. The Greater Raleigh Sports Alliance and the city of Raleigh are the primary host city sponsors for the event.