2012 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational


       RALEIGH— The tenth annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships are scheduled for Saturday at the Raleigh Convention Center.

       A total of 119 teams have registered to compete in the event, featuring over 2,200 cheerleaders.

       Competition will be held in 12 different categories. The doors open at 7:30 am and competition will begin at nine o’clock Saturday morning.

       The Carolina Cup will also be awarded based on the scores achieved in the competition. Cheer Ltd., Inc., an NCHSAA corporate partner that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. The team that earns the highest cumulative score among varsity teams during the invitational championship earns the Cup.

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons became the first school to win two Carolina Cups by getting its second one last year. Ledford won the Carolina Cup in 2010. Previous winners include Raleigh Millbrook in 2009, Jamestown Ragsdale in 2008, Gibbons in 2007, North Gaston in 2006 and Raleigh Sanderson took the Cup in its inaugural year in 2005.

The Raleigh Sports Consortium is the primary host city sponsor for the event.