Wells Fargo Cup

The Wells Fargo Cup, formerly the Wachovia Cup, has become the symbol of overall sports excellence among high schools in North Carolina.

Since 1979 the Cup has gone to the schools which have the best overall interscholastic sports programs in each of the four classifications: 1A, 2A, 3A and 4A. The program is sponsored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association and one of its corporate sponsors, Wells Fargo.

Each Cup winner receives an engraved silver cup and a banner for permanent display at the school. The Wells Fargo Cups are presented annually at a University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill football game.

All schools that finish in the top eight positions (plus ties) in an NCHSAA state championship event receive Wells Fargo Cup points. In events where 1A, 2A, 3A and/or 4A schools compete together, such as lacrosse, points are awarded on a school's standing against other schools in its classification.

In Cup competition, points are awarded for all sports on the basis of 50 points for first, 45 for second, 40 for third, 35 for fourth, 30 for fifth, 25 for sixth, 20 for seventh and 15 for eighth.

In the event of a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points, based on the number of teams that tie and the number of teams that finish higher in the standings. Five points are awarded for each sanctioned sport in which a school competes.


2014-15 Wells Fargo Cup


2013-14 Wells Fargo Cup


2012-13 Wells Fargo Cup


2011-12 Wells Fargo Cup


2010-11 Wachovia Cup