Toby Webb Coach of the Year Award

Established in 2005-06 through the NCHSAA Endowment Fund and generous donations from Toby Webb supporters, the Toby Webb 'Coach of the Year' Award recognizes two outstanding coaches annually, one male and one female. This award seeks to recognize and honor coaches who have had an impact on the lives of student-athletes, and students in general, by encouraging them to succeed, helping to develop self-confidence, ambition, a sound work ethic, and other skills necessary for success in the students' later lives. Furthermore, the coaches shall have a record of encouraging student-athletes to be well-rounded (i.e. displaying excellence in areas of scholarship, citizenship, music, etc.).

Finally, the coaches shall have a reputation amongst their respective peers and the athletic community for fair play, good sportsmanship, and the development of these attributes in their respective student-athletes. Each 'Coach of the Year' recipient will receive a $2,000 cash award and commemorative plaque and will be recognized at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting.

Nominations will be accepted from peers and reviewed by a special selection committee based on criteria set forth by Coach Toby Webb.

Deadline:  April 5, 2019
Questions: Contact Mary Vrnak at 919-240-7371 or

Criteria for Selection:

  1. Coach must have a minimum of ten (10) years of head coaching experience at a NCHSAA member school and must be actively coaching during the year of consideration for the award.
  2. Coach must be recognized as having contributed to high school athletics in general and outside of his/her community.
    Examples might include: 
    Contributions to the work of the NCHSAA; Development of new coaching/training methods or other innovations in his/her sport; 
    Recognition by peers through his/her selection as a coach of high school East-West, all-star, or state championship team.
  3. Coach shall have contributed to the success of high school athletics in his/her school and community outside of his/her coaching duties. Examples might include:
    Participation in summer camps, development programs and other youth sport programs;
    Mentoring younger coaches;
    Cooperation with other coaches in the sharing of athletes;
    General support for high school sports other than his/her own.
  4. Coach shall have contributed to his/her community at large outside of athletics. Examples might include:
    Participation in civic and/or service organizations within the community;
    Service as a role model for student-athletes he/she has coached and to students in general.

Toby Webb "Coach of the Year" Award Past Recipients

  • 2006 | Hal Capps, Western Alamance High School and Carolyn Rogers, Perquimans High School 
  • 2007 | Patty Evers, East Bladen High School and Mickey Lineberger, South Point High School
  • 2008 | Cindi Simmons, Smoky Mountain High School and Tom Evaul, Avery County High School
  • 2009 | Vickie Peoples, Enloe High School and Norman Trzaskoma, R.J. Reynolds High School
  • 2010 | Debra Philyaw, Jones Senior High School and John Moon, Eastern Alamance High School
  • 2011 | Zoe Bell, Ardrey Kell High School and Ray Horton, Pender High School
  • 2012 | Sherry Norris, Chapel Hill High School and Terry Frazier, Roanoke Rapids High School
  • 2013 | Sandra Martin, Providence High School and Eddie Rivers, Forest Hills High School
  • 2014 | Wendy Gaines, Triton High School and Michael Gainey, Rocky Mount High School
  • 2015 | Natalie Tribble, North Iredell High School and Scott Braswell, John T. Hoggard High School
  • 2016 | Darlene Joyner, Northwest Guilford High School and Johnny Sowell, Monroe High School
  • 2017 | Sue Moon, North Henderson School and John Gray, Durham Jordan High School
  • 2018 | Amber Reddick, Freedom High School and Roy Cooper, Apex High School