North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Eight Coaches Earn Homer Thompson Awards For Sportsmanship

Eight Coaches Earn Homer Thompson Sportsmanship Awards From NCHSAA

CHAPEL HILL– Eight “coaches who make a difference” by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanship will be honored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association at the NCHSAA’s upcoming regional meetings across the state.

The coaches have been selected for the Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make a Difference award. The award is named in honor of the late Homer Thompson, the long-time Winston-Salem Parkland coach and member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame. Each honoree will receive the award at his or her respective regional meeting, which will be held September 21-24 in the western part of the state and September 28-October 1 in the East.

“It is fitting that Homer Thompson’s name be affixed to an award about coaches who make a difference,” says NCHSAA executive director Charlie Adams, “for Homer certainly did make a difference in the lives of many and truly was an outstanding role model.”

The winners were chosen by a special committee based on nominations from the member schools. They will receive a plaque as part of the Association’s student services program.

Coaches receiving this honor for 2008-09 include the following:

Region 1: Marie Lewis, J.H.Rose HS, DREAM Team & SASI Coach

Region 2: Charles Davis, Charles B. Aycock HS, athletic director and head baseball coach

Region 3: Art Medlin, South Johnston HS, men’s indoor and outdoor track coach

Region 4: Paul Hodges, Lumberton HS, head baseball coach

Region 5: Steven Davis, Dudley HS, head football coach

Region 6: Chris Norman, Shelby HS, head football coach and athletic director

Region 7: David Craft, Hickory HS, head baseball coach and assistant football coach

Region 8: Robert Strong, Hendersonville HS, head men’s basketball coach

Each school had the opportunity to nominate one of its coaches for this award. “These coaches provide excellent role models with their positive approach,” says Adams.

The North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company underwrites the recognition for high school coaches. The first awards presented in this series were in 1993.