North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Brooks Matthews Is NCHSAA President For 2011-12

        CHAPEL HILL— Brooks Matthews, principal of Triton High School in Erwin, will serve as president of the North Carolina High School Board of Directors for the 2011-12 academic year.

 Allison Sholar, who will be moving from the Pender County schools as superintendent to Currituck County, will be the immediate past president. Stewart Hobbs, now the superintendent of Yadkin County, is the incoming vice president.

 A graduate of Buies Creek High School, where he lettered in four sports, and Campbell University, Brooks has an excellent athletic and administrative background. After coaching and teaching at Cape Fear Christian Academy for three years and Dunn High School for four, he went to Triton High School starting in 1984 and has been there ever since.

 He taught advanced biology and coached men’s and women’s tennis as well as women’s basketball, and then became assistant principal and athletic director in 1990. Brooks served in those capacities until 2001, when he became principal.

        New Board members were recommended by the NCHSAA’s Nominating Committee, based on the requirements of the Association’s constitution and by-laws. The member schools at eight regional meetings select nominees for consideration across the state, then from among those nominees individuals are selected by the Nominating Committee to fill the available slots. They are approved by the membership at the Annual Meeting.

 The new Board members nominated were either filling vacancies produced by members going off the Board due to completion of their terms or those who are off due to retirement or leaving public school work.

 They include: Region 5— Robert Logan, superintendent, Chatham County schools; Region 7–Sally Bradshaw, principal, Fred T. Foard High School; Region 6–Carla Black, principal, Concord High School (filling unexpired term of Page Carver); Region 3–Angie Miller, athletic director, Nash-Rocky Mount schools; and Region 6–Bill Rogers, athletic director, Porter Ridge High School.  Re-elected for a full four-year term was Dwayne Stallings, superintendent, Perquimans County schools, for Region 1.

       “Our presidents have served the Association extremely well over the year,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield.  “We look forward to Brooks Matthews serving as president and the direction and  great leadership he will certainly provide.

     “We are also excited about those who will be joining the Board of Directors, which should help us to maintain an outstanding Board to serve our membership.”