Wells Fargo State Standings Listed For Fall Sports Season

2013 Fall Season Wells Fargo Cup Leaders Announced
Wells Fargo, along with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, today announced the standings for fall sports in the Wells Fargo Cup competitions for the 2013-14 academic year. 
The Wells Fargo Cup is sponsored by Wells Fargo and the NCHSAA. The award recognizes the high schools that achieve the best overall interscholastic athletic performance within each of the state’s four competitive classifications. The Cup program is in its 35th year.
Defending champion Cary Green Hope sits atop the 4-A standings, while defending Cup champion Cardinal Gibbons paces the 3-A class.  Lake Norman Charter, who won the 1-A Cup last year but moved up a classification in realignment, is in first place in 2-A with defending 2-A champ Carrboro in second. Elkin is in first place in the 1-A classification standings, ahead of perennial power Kernersville Bishop McGuinness.
Green Hope, which claimed the 4-A women’s cross country crown while also scoring playoff points in four other sports, tallied a total of 230 to open up a good lead over second-place Winston-Salem Mount Tabor.  Mount Tabor was second in men’s cross country, fifth in women’s and also in the final four in volleyball for a total of 147.5. 
Raleigh Broughton, which captured the state crown in men’s cross country, is in third place with 132.5 points, while Asheville T.C. Roberson (130) is tied for fourth with Charlotte Ardrey Kell.
Cardinal Gibbons had another terrific fall season in 3-A with playoff points in five different sports, including state titles in volleyball, women’s dual team tennis and men’s cross country. The Crusaders earned a total of 265 points, ahead of second-place Weddington’s 205.
Weddington’s fall total, which represents playoff points in five sports, included a state championship in men’s cross country and runner-up finish to Gibbons in women’s dual team tennis.  
Waxhaw Marvin Ridge is in third with 172.5 points, followed by Chapel Hill (155) and Northern Guilford (137.5).
Lake Norman Charter rolled up 202.5 points to take the top spot in 2-A over defending champ Carrboro at 190.  Lake Norman Charter finished in the top four in the 2-A classification in four different sports, including volleyball, women’s dual team tennis, men’s cross country and men’s soccer.
Carrboro’s fall performance included a pair of state semifinal appearances in men’s soccer and women’s dual team tennis, and a pair of third-place finishes in the cross country championships.
Perennial contender Salisbury is third with 185 points, followed by Durham North Carolina School of Science and Math (177.5), which won the 2-A men’s cross country title.   Hendersonville, which captured top honors in volleyball, and Shelby, the 2-AA football champion, are tied for fifth at 147.5.
  In the 1-A classification, Elkin leads the way after finishing as the top 1-A team in women’s golf and also scoring points in both cross country events and men’s soccer for its 172.5 total.
Bishop McGuinness is just five points back of Elkin at 167.5. The Villains’ fall championship performances included sweeping both cross country titles and finishing in the top four in women’s tennis.
Misenheimer Gray Stone Day is third at 162.5, followed by Raleigh Charter (147.5) and then Community School of Davidson at 117.5.
Wells Fargo Cup points are determined by a system based on performance in state championship events. All schools that finish in the top eight positions (plus ties) earn points. In the playoff events involving teams from more than one classification, Wells Fargo Cup points are awarded based on the school’s standing against other schools in its own classification. If fewer then eight schools from a classification compete in a sport, only those schools that are represented are eligible to receive the Wells Fargo Cup points. 
Points are awarded for all sports as follows: 50 for first, 45 for second, 40 for third, 35 for fourth, 30 for fifth, 25 for sixth, 20 for seventh and 15 for eighth. In the event of a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points based on the number of teams that tie and the number of teams that finish higher in the standings. Five points are awarded for each sanctioned sport in which a school competes. 
Wells Fargo Cup standings are announced three times each school year: once after the fall, again after the winter sports, and then concluding with the winner after the spring sports season ends in June. The engraved silver cups are presented during NCHSAA Day activities at UNC-Chapel Hill each fall.
1. Elkin 172.5
2. Kernersville Bishop McGuinness 167.5
3. Misenheimer Gray Stone Day 162.5
4. Raleigh Charter 147.5
5. Community School of Davidson 117.5
6.  Mount Airy   107.5
     Wallace-Rose Hill 107.5
8. Boonville Starmount 102.5
9. Franklin Academy 97.5
10. Swain 82.5
      Durham Voyager Academy 82.5
12. Murphy 75
      North Moore 75
      Rosewood 75
      Whiteville 75
1. Lake Norman Charter 202.5
2. Carrboro 190
3. Salisbury 185
4. Durham N.C. School of Science and Math 177.5
5. Hendersonville 147.5
    Shelby   147.5
7. Newport Croatan 125
8. East Lincoln 107.5
9. Franklin 80
    Durham School of the Arts 80
    Trinity Wheatmore 80
12. High Point T.W. Andrews 75
      Monroe 75
      Kill Devil Hills First Flight 75
15. Elizabeth City Northeastern 72.5
      Reidsville   72.5
      South Granville 72.5
      Washington 72.5
1. Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 265
2. Weddington 205
3. Waxhaw Marvin Ridge 172.5
4. Chapel Hill 155
5. Northern Guilford 137.5
6. Wilson Hunt 110
7. Fayetteville Terry Sanford 102.5
8. West Henderson 100
9. Asheville 97.5
10. North Lincoln 95
11. Asheville A.C. Reynolds   92.5
12. West Carteret 90
13. Hillsborough Cedar Ridge 87.5
14. Havelock 85
15. Concord 80
      Jacksonville 80
      Ledford 80
      Crest 80
      China Grove Jesse Carson 80
1. Cary Green Hope 230
2. Winston-Salem Mount Tabor 147.5
3. Raleigh Broughton 132.5
4. Asheville T.C. Roberson 130
    Charlotte Ardrey Kell 130
6. Charlotte Catholic 117.5
    Cornelius W.A. Hough 117.5
8. Raleigh Millbrook 115
9. Charlotte Myers Park 112.5
10. Southern Pines Pinecrest 105
      Wake Forest 105
12. Charlotte Providence 92.5
13.  Greensboro Dudley 85
       Wakefield 85
       Cary Panther Creek 85
       Charlotte Mallard Creek 85