North Carolina High School Athletic Association

NCHSAA Names Heart Of A Champion Recipients

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored
CHAPEL HILL—A total of 20 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools will be honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.
The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.  Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.
Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2011-12 school year,  have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.
The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 9, at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park. 
“We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. “With recognitions such as these, we are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach.”
North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2011-12 Honorees:
Student Athlete School Nominator
Lance Byrd North Wilkes Dave Haynie
Jeremy Clark West Stanly Wendy Tucker
Jamarcus Clyburn Forest Hills Warren Taylor
Mikhayla Dunn Person Lynn Ward
Logan Garman Butler Janet Prevatte
Sean Grant West Iredell Mark Weycker
Ryan Johnson Clyde A. Erwin David Ball
Austin Macemore Starmount Scott Carter
Victoria McGee Northwest Guilford Darlene Joyner
Kadie Morgan North Stanly Tommy Harkey
Kaley Moser Walter Williams Kyle Hayes
Savannah Nesbitt Clyde A. Erwin David Ball
Patricia Renfrow North Johnston Nicole Davis
Taylor Rhodes Northwest Guilford Charlie Rhodes
Sydney Richardson West Stanly Wendy Tucker
Kimberly Rivers Forest Hills Eddie Rivers
Brenna Roberson North Wilkes Michael Greene
Matthew Rumble Butler Janet Prevatte
Elizabeth Scott   West Iredell Mark Weycker
Meng Xiong Albemarle Joanne Hesley, Gary Moran