NCHSAA Foundation, Inc.

The NCHSAA Foundation was established in May 2023 as a 501C3 non-profit corporation to serve and protect the integrity of high school sports and related activities in North Carolina for NCHSAA member high schools by providing funding opportunities for grants, scholarships, and program support to benefit students, coaches, administrators, and officials engaged in those sports and activities.

Funds from the NCHSAA Endowments were transferred to the Foundation to continue to serve the student-athletes and schools as has been done since the inception of the NCHSAA Endowment in 1991.

Of note, numerous state associations across the USA have already established separate foundations to support their respective state association programs and activities.

NCHSAA Foundation Articles of Incorporation


The education-based grant program, previously run through the NCHSAA, is now coordinated through the NCHSAA Foundation.  Only NCHSAA member schools are eligible to apply and must meet the established criteria. Areas of focus: Student Programs, Coach/Athletic Administrator Education, Health, Safety & Wellness initiatives, and Small Equipment.


Numerous scholarship opportunities, once provided through the NCHSAA Scholarships Endowment Fund, will now be made through the NCHSAA Foundation. These scholarships are available through the generosity of many donors as well as several private foundations. Only student-athletes enrolled and participating in athletics at NCHSAA member schools are eligible.


The Toby Webb Outstanding Coach Award is now administered through the NCHSAA Foundation and recognizes two outstanding coaches annually. The Dave Harris Outstanding System Athletic Director Award is a new initiative and will recognize one system athletic director annually. Coaches and system athletic directors actively employed at an NCHSAA member school or school system, respectively, are eligible for nomination.

Inaugural Trustees

Dr. Rob Jackson, Superintendent for Buncombe County Schools | NCHSAA Board Past President

Dr. William (Bill) Steed, retired Superintendent for Davie County Schools | former NCHSAA Board of Directors member

M. Que Tucker, Commissioner of the NCHSAA

Six (6) additional Board of Trustees will be appointed per the NCHSAA Foundation Bylaws and officers will be selected.

– Former NCHSAA Board of Director member
– Former NCHSAA Board of Director member
– Former NCHSAA Board of Director member
– Business/Community member 
– Business/Community member
– Business/Community member

Foundation Contact

Karen DeHart
(919) 240-7369