North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Sanderson Athletics Hall Of Fame Names Class Of 2013



RALEIGH — Sanderson High School and the Sanderson Athletic Club will induct the third class of the Sanderson Athletics Hall of Fame in festivities to be held in September 2013. The class includes seven individual athletes, two coaches, one team and a collection of parent-boosters.

The Hall of Fame “Class of 2013” will be honored in ceremonies that will be conducted on “Hall of Fame Weekend” this coming fall. The honorees will be introduced at halftime of the home football game versus Apex on September 6 and they will be the guests of honor at the Hall of Fame luncheon and induction ceremony on Sunday, September 8 at North Ridge Country Club.  The activities will be open to the public.  Tickets for the football game will cost $7.00 each and will be available on the night of the game.  Tickets for the luncheon will be made available for $30 each beginning in July and must be purchased in advance.

Members of the Sanderson Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Bob Catapano – was a math teacher, soccer coach, and athletic director at Sanderson for thirty-three years – from 1977 until 2010. His men’s soccer teams built a dynasty while he was at the helm for twenty seasons – winning 11 state championships and 17 conference championships and amassing a record of 363 wins, 44 losses, and 21 ties.  He served as the Spartans’ athletic director for twenty eight years and led a program that developed a reputation for excellence.  Upon his retirement in 2010, the school’s stadium field was named “Catapano Field” in his honor.

Tyreck Knox – (SHS Class of ’95) – led the Spartans men’s basketball teams to three straight conference championships in the mid-90s. He was the Cap Seven Conference Player of the Year as a junior and as a senior while leading the Spartans in scoring and rebounding both years.  Knox made the Holiday Festival All-Tournament team and played in the East-West All-Star game as a senior.  He played collegiate basketball at Lenior Community College for one year and at Campbell University for three years.

Betsy Cook Lanzen – (Betsy Cook SHS ’89) – helped the Spartans gymnastics teams earn two state titles and two second place trophies in the state meet in the late 80s. She was a four-time All-Conference performer and was named Sanderson’s Most Outstanding Gymnast as a junior and as a senior.  She was the valedictorian of the Class of 1989 and earned the Morehead Scholarship to UNC.  She was a highly qualified U.S. Gymnastics Federation judge and rose to the level of “National Judge.”  She also attended Law School at UNC and now practices law in Raleigh.      

Chuck Lehning – was a teacher and coach at Sanderson for 23 years – from 1970 until 1993. After 7 years as an assistant football coach on the staff led by Jim Brown, Chuck became the head coach in 1977 and remained in that role for 12 years.  He instilled his love for the game of football on hundreds of Spartans who played for him.  His 1977 team may have been his best; they went 8-3 and lost to #1 ranked Jacksonville 14-10 in the first round of the playoffs.  He also coached wrestling, golf, and track and field at Sanderson.  He taught social studies and driver education.  As a driver education teacher, his influence over thousands of Spartans to drive safely was a valuable contribution to the community.

Treshell Mayo – (SHS ’92) – was an outstanding basketball player and track athlete. She was the NCHSAA state champion in the 400 meter dash as a junior and as a senior.   She was Sanderson’s Most Outstanding Female Athlete as a junior and as a senior.  She received a track scholarship to Clemson where she earned All-ACC honors all four years.  She won the ACC Outdoor Championship in the 200 meter dash as a junior in 1995.

Todd Renner – (SHS ’85) – was an outstanding soccer player who helped the team to three conference championships and two state titles in his three years as a Spartan. The 1982-83-84 teams on which he played had a record of 54-2-6.  He was the NC State Player of the Year and an All-American as a senior (1984 season) and played in the National Soccer Coaches’ All-Star Classic at West Point in the summer following graduation.  He played collegiate soccer for one year at Furman and three years at Wake Forest where he was a two-time All-American and helped the Deacons win their first ACC soccer championship.

Jay Stainback – (SHS ’83) – was a state wrestling champion and an outstanding football player in the early 80s. In three years, he compiled a wrestling record of 82 and 7 while winning three conference championships, two WRAL tournament championships, and one state championship. He won 33 matches and lost none as a senior – the year he won the state title at 170 pounds.  He and three other teammates helped the Spartans earn the 1983 NCHSAA State Team Championship under Coach Dale Warren.  He was a two-time All-Conference lineman in football.  He was inducted into the UNC-Pembroke Athletic Hall of Fame as a wrestler in 2011.    

Terry Teague – (SHS Class of ’79) – was an outstanding basketball player who, in his three years as a Spartan, became the all-time Sanderson scoring leader with 1290 points. He was a three-time All-Conference honoree and was named Metro Player of the Year by the Raleigh Times twice while scoring 20 points per game as a junior and as a senior.  He played in the 1979 East-West All-Star game for the East team, coached by Sanderson’s Bill Harrington, which the East won, 93-91.  Teague played collegiate basketball for four years at Mercer University in Macon, Georgia.

Gregg Zwilling – (SHS Class of ’83) – was a state wrestling champion and an outstanding football player in the early 80s. He won three Cap 8 Championships and two WRAL Tournament Championships.  He won 32 matches without a loss as a senior when he won the NCHSAA Championship at 195 pounds.   He and three other teammates helped the Spartans earn the 1983 NCHSAA State Team Championship under Coach Dale Warren.  He was an All-Conference lineman in football.  He wrestled for four years at Carolina.

The Founders of the Sanderson Athletic Club – were a group of dads who saw that their sons’ teams need their support and they were willing to break a sweat to lend a hand. As far as we have been able to determine, people started talking about creating a boosters club in the fourth year of the school’s existence (1971-72) and it became a reality the next year (1972-73).  “The Founders” were some of the most influential leaders of the club during the first ten years of its existence.  They are Joe Brueck, George Coats, Bob Hawkins, Ralph Heres, Gene Lilly, Harry Marchant, Max Powell, Sonny Shaffer, Bill Touchberry, and Jerry Weekman.  We honor them for laying the groundwork for hundreds of volunteers who have followed in their footsteps under the banner of the Sanderson Athletic Club.  Family members of deceased Founders are asked to contact Bob Catapano for details about the induction ceremonies.

The 1981 Men’s Soccer Team – finished the season with 19 wins and only 1 loss on the way to earning a conference regular season championship and Sanderson’s fourth NCHSAA Men’s Soccer State Championship. The team scored 90 goals and gave up 12.  They produced 12 shutouts and a school record 9 of them came in consecutive games.  Their only loss came in sudden death in a 1-0 four overtime thriller against Millbrook in the Cap Eight Tournament finals on Halloween night.  The state title game at Greensboro Page was memorable.  After Sanderson led 3-1, Page scored two goals late in the game to tie it up, but Sanderson scored only 40 seconds after the Page equalizer to retake the lead and then tallied an insurance goal minutes later to punctuate the 5-3 victory.