North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Maurice Green To Serve As NCHSAA President For 2015-16 Academic Year

                  CHAPEL HILL— Maurice Green, superintendent of the Guilford County schools, will serve as president of the North Carolina High School Board of Directors for the 2015-16 academic year.
                  Green has been elevated to president after serving in the role of vice-president.  The Nominations Committee of the NCHSAA made the recommendation, which was approved by the membership at the Annual Meeting. Terms for Board members and officers in the NCHSAA start on July 1.
                  Rodney Shotwell, superintendent of the Rockingham County schools, will serve as vice-president for the coming year.  Former president Bill Miller, superintendent of the Polk County schools, will return to be the past president.
                  The new Board president has been the Guilford County superintendent since 2008 and before that held various positions in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg school system, originally joining that district in 2001 as general counsel and progressing to chief operating officer and then deputy superintendent.
                  He holds a bachelor’s degree in political science and economics and a law degree, both from Duke University.
                  Under his leadership, Guilford County schools have raised their graduation rates, student achievement on test scores and scholarship dollars for graduating seniors and developed a strategic plan with a number of innovative programs.
                  Green has received numerous accolades for his work. In 2014, he was named the Distinguished Educator by the North Carolina Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. Three years prior to that, he received the Bob Grossman Leadership in School Communications Award given by the National School Public Relations Association.
                   New Board members were also approved after being recommended by the NCHSAA's Nominating Committee, based on the requirements of the Association's constitution and by-laws. The member schools at eight regional meetings select nominees for consideration across the state, then from among those nominees individuals are selected by the Nominating Committee to fill the available slots. They were also approved by the membership at the Annual Meeting.
                  The new Board members are either filling vacancies produced by members going off the Board due to completion of their terms or those who are off due to retirement or leaving public school work. They include coach/athletic director from region 3, 4-A: Scarlett Steinert, Chapel Hill-Carrboro schools; coach/athletic director from region 4, 2-A: Patty Evers, East Bladen; superintendent from region 5, 1-A: Ronnie Mendenhall, Stokes County;  superintendent from region 6, 3-A: Sherry Hoyle, Lincoln County; superintendent from region 7, 4-A: Darrin Hartness. Davie County.
                  The North Carolina Athletic Directors Association is one of the organizations that has a representative on the Board as an affiliate member, and the NCADA has appointed Jeff Morris of Gray Stone Day School to that position to replace Rex Wells of Asheville High, who is retiring.
                  "These individuals will continue to provide outstanding leadership,” said NCHSAA interim commissioner Que Tucker.  “We look forward to Maurice Green serving as president and the direction he will provide.
                  "We are also excited about the new members who will be joining our Board of Directors, which should help us to maintain an outstanding Board to serve our membership.”