North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Indoor Track And Field Championship Meets Saturday In Winston-salem


CHAPEL HILL— North Carolina High School Athletic Association state championships in two classifications of indoor track will be decided on Saturday.

The championships will be held for the first time at JDL Fast Track in Winston-Salem.

JDL Fast Track, one of the premier indoor track and field facilities in the Southeast, is the brainchild of two former Wake Forest University runners and current real estate developers, David Shannon and Craig Longhurst, who identified and fulfilled a need for an area indoor track facility for use by colleges, high schools, local track clubs and youth track organizations.

The privately owned, dedicated indoor track and field facility, which opened in January of last year, houses a 200-meter oval track with a Mondotrack FTX surface—the same surface used at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Field event areas include two pole vault runways, two long/triple jump runways, one high jump apron and one throws area. The facility also includes a 100-meter warm-up track, office and meeting-room space, a training room, and hospitality suites for coaches’ or conference officials’ meetings at large events.

“The North Carolina indoor state high school meet was one of our early targets when we initially started discussing the project to build an indoor track,” said David Shannon, owner of JDL Fast Track.

This year’s meets will start with the 1-A/2-A/3-A championships, with all those schools competing together. Competition will begin at 9 am.

After that meet has concluded,  the 4-A schools hold their championships, with both field events and running events starting at 4 p.m.

Last year the Knightdale and Southeast Guilford finished in a dead heat for the men’s 4-A crown while Raleigh Wakefield took the women’s title for the second year in a row.

Southeast Raleigh has also been an indoor track force in both men’s and women’s competition in this class, winning three of the six state titles contested as a separate 4-A classification.

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons won the 1-A/2-A/3-A men’s title in 2012 while Burlington Cummings took top honors on the women’s side for the fifth time in the last six years.