North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Coaches Named By North Carolina Coaches Association For All-star Coaching Duties


        GREENSBORO— The North Carolina Coaches Association has selected the coaches for its 2014 series of East-West all-star games.

        In men’s basketball, Michael Baker of Fairmont will be the head coach of the East squad, assisted by Raleigh Millbrook’s Scott McInnes, while the West will be headed by Aubrey Holifield of Shelby with Lee Reavis of Northwest Guilford assisting.

        Michelle Wood of East Chapel Hill will be the head coach of the East women’s team, assisted by East Wake’s Toni Vick.  The West head coach will be Scott Waugh of Wilkes Central, with Shawyn Newton of Southeast Guilford the assistant.

        The NCCA also selects the coaches for the North Carolina-South Carolina all-star basketball games.  Mike Absher of Davie will guide the North Carolina men’s squad, with Steve Robinson of Wallace-Rose Hill the assistant coach.  Darlene Joyner of Northwest Guilford will serve as head coach of the North Carolina women’s team, assisted by Tracie Taylor of Fayetteville Seventy-First.

        Matt Edwards of Raleigh Millbrook has been named the head coach of the East team in men’s soccer, while Northern Guilford’s Andrew Hultberg will coach the West Squad.  The women’s soccer game coaches are Glenn Griffin of Wilson Beddingfield for the East and Scott Bilton of West Forsyth for the West.

        The coaching staffs for the football game are also set.  Brian Foster of Southern Nash will serve as the East head coach.  His assistants will include Richard Bailey of Scotland, Robert Britt of Rosewood, Kim Cain of West Bladen, Steve Mallard of Hobbton and Wes Mattera of Edenton Holmes.

        West Rowan’s Scott Young will be the West head coach.  His staff will include Brett Chappell of Canton Pisgah, Mark Holcomb of North Davidson, Jeremy Funderburk of Wilkes Central, Keith Phillips of Ashe County and Lin Stadler of Rockingham County.

        Congratulations to all of these fine coaches named by the North Carolina Coaches Association to participate in these prestigious games.