North Carolina High School Athletic Association


The Wells Fargo Cup has become the symbol of overall sports excellence among high schools in North Carolina.

Since 1979 the Cup has gone to the schools that have the best overall interscholastic sports programs in each of the four classifications of competition: 1A, 2A, 3A and 4A. The program is sponsored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association and is now sponsored by Wells Fargo. Prior to that and a variety of bank acquisitions, the program was sponsored by Wachovia.

Each Cup winner receives an engraved silver cup and a banner for permanent display at the school. The awards are presented at a University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill football game during NCHSAA Day festivities.

All schools that finish in the top eight positions (plus ties) in an NCHSAA state championship event receive Wells Fargo Cup points. In events where 1A, 2A, 3A and/or 4A schools compete together, such as lacrosse, points are awarded on a school's standing against other schools in its classification.

In Cup competition, points are awarded for all sports on the basis of 50 points for first, 45 for second, 40 for third, 35 for fourth, 30 for fifth, 25 for sixth, 20 for seventh and 15 for eighth.

In the event of a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points, based on the number of teams that tie and the number of teams that finish higher in the standings. Five points are awarded for each sanctioned sport in which a school competes.

Results are compiled in the NCHSAA offices and announced at least three times during the academic year: after the fall season, the winter season and then the final standings after the spring season.

Other history of the Cup and previous winners can be found elsewhere on the NCHSAA web site. The winners of the Wells Fargo Cup for the 2013-14 academic year included Bishop McGuinness of Kernersville in the 1-A classificaiton, Carrboro for 2-A schools, Waxhaw Marvin Ridge in 3-A and  Cary Green Hope in the 4-A classification won its fifth consecutive Wells Fargo Cup.