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NO. PLAYER RE | POS.

19 1 | B.HARRIS 6
SUB.

17 2 | saBE | 4
SUB.

20| 3 | c.THOMAS | 8
SUB.

24| 4 | D.ones | DP
SUB.

15 | 5 | R.ALEXANDER | 3
SUB.

22| 6 | B.MOORE | 2
SUB.

25s | 7 | A.COOPER | 7
SUB.

7 | 8 | KMORRS | 5
SUB.

3 | 9 | ERODGERS | 1
SUB.

18 | 10 | M. GREEN (FLEX) | 9
SUB.

NO. SUBSTITUTES POS.

10 5. HOWELL

4 B. BAKER

6 C. SMITH

55 D. BROWN

The lineup shown here is a legal starting lineup
utilizing the DP/FLEX option (3-3-6). In order for a
lineup to be complete each starting player must have
their first initial and last name, jersey number, position
and batting order (3-1-3). As can be seen here each
starting player has a defensive position listed in the
lineup, with the exception of spot #4 in the lineup
whose starting position is DP. Since the DP is designed
to start the game playing offense only their starting
position is listed as DP and they are required to be
listed in the top 9 positions in the lineup(3-3-6a). Also
of note is that the FLEX, which is listed 10" in the
lineup(3-3-6b), is a defensive specialist and is required
to have a defensive position listed in the starting
lineup. Once the plate umpire accepts this lineup as
an official lineup, a coach may make changes prior to a
pitch being thrown.

Example 1: After the lineup is made official, the coach
may say, "Blue, my DP is going to pitch and #3 is going
to play offense only" (3-3-6e). The umpire should
mark this change on the lineup card to ensure the
correct player is eligible for a courtesy runner later in
the game. Also it should be noted that #3 has NOT left
the game as they will continue to bat in the 9t
position in the lineup.

Example 2: After the lineup is made official the coach
may say "Blue | want my DP to play defense for the
FLEX" (3-3-6e). The umpire should mark the FLEX
player (#18) as having left the game and would have
one reentry.

Example 3: After the lineup is made official, the coach may say “Blue | want my FLEX to bat for my DP”
(3-3-6d). The DP has left the game in this situation and the umpire should mark #24 as having left the
game and they would have one reentry.



The following situations are from three different games and are to be considered independently:

Situation 1: Team A (the visiting team) is using the starting lineup shown above. After the lineup is
official Team A’s coach informs the umpire that their FLEX will be batting for their DP. The umpire notes
the starting DP (#24) has left the game and has one reentry. In the top of the first inning, the FLEX gets a
hit and is safely on first base. Team A’s coach tells the umpire that the DP, #24 will reenter to run for the
FLEX and the FLEX (#18) will go back to playing defense only. In the bottom of the second inning, B4’s
position in the lineup comes up to bat and the coach informs the umpire that the FLEX will again bat for
the DP. The umpire marks that #24 has left the game for a second time and has no remaining eligibility
for the game. After hitting the ball and reaching first base, Team A’s coach tells the plate umpire that
#10 is entering the DP position and the FLEX will return to playing defense only. In the third inning when
B4’s spot in the lineup is reached, Team A’s coach tells the umpire they want the FLEX to bat for the DP.
The umpire should mark that #10 has now left the game and has one reentry. After reaching first base
safely, the coach of Team A tells the umpire #10 is going to reenter as the DP and the FLEX is going back
to playing defense only. In the fourth inning when B4’s time at bat is approaching, the coach of Team A
tells the umpire that the FLEX will bat for the DP. The umpire marks that #10 has left the game for a
second time and has no remaining eligibility for the game. After the FLEX hits and gets on base safely
Team A’s coach tells the umpire that #4 will enter the DP position in the lineup and run for the FLEX and
the FLEX will return to playing defense only. The umpire allows all these actions as legal utilization of the
DP/FLEX rule. RULING: Correct ruling. If the FLEX bats they must do so in the DP’s positon (3-3-6d&g).
When the DP no longer plays offense, they have left the game (3-3-6d). If the DP reenters to play
offense the FLEX may return to the 10" position in the lineup playing defense only and is not considered
to have left the game (3-3-6d [2a]). The DP position may be filled by a legal eligible substitute (3-3-6d).
One important concept of DP/FLEX is to separate the player from the position. As is commonly known all
players have only one reentry, so once the starting DP, #24 and the second DP #10 left the game a
second time they were no longer able to participate in the game (3-3-5). However, the DP position is
available for an eligible sub to occupy for the entire game, allowing #4 to enter the vacant DP position.
Another important concept is the FLEX is the defensive specialist, as long as they continue to play
defense they have never left the game. In all of these movements, the FLEX played offense until they
were on base then returned to the 10™ position in the lineup up playing defense only. In all of the
movements in this situation, the FLEX player never left the game since they continued to play defense.
Team A could continue to have the FLEX player bat every time that B4’s position in the lineup is reached
and have the DP run for the FLEX with the FLEX returning to play defense only as many times as they
have eligible players to enter the DP position in the lineup.

Situation 2: Team A is utilizing the starting lineup shown above. In the third inning, the coach tells the
umpire “#24 is going to play second base and #17 is going to be my new DP”. The umpire informs the
coach that it is legal for the DP to play defense at second base, but the DP position will remain in the 4t
spot in the lineup. #17 will continue to bat 2" in the lineup and will not leave the game. RULING:
Correct ruling. The DP may play defense for any player other than the FLEX and that player continues to
bat but will not play defense and is not considered to have left the game (3-3-6e). As stated in rule 3-3-
6c the DP must remain in the same position in the batting order for the entire game. This is critical for
the situation where the FLEX might bat, as they have to do so in the DP’s position and in this game that
is the 4" position in the lineup (3-3-6d&g). There is no need to create a “position” for #17 that is playing
offense only, a positon is only required for the starting lineup, if the DP is playing defense for them they
are still batting 2" in the lineup and no other position or designation is required.



Situation 3: Team A is utilizing the starting lineup shown above. In the fourth inning, the DP #24 goes
out to play defense in left field. Team B’s coach approaches the umpire about #24 being an unreported
substitute. The umpire agrees and gives Team A’s coach a team warning for not reporting this
substitution. RULING: Incorrect ruling. Since this is a defensive only change and #25 will continue to bat,
no player has left the game. This is not considered a substitution as defined in rules 2-57-1 and 3-3-2. It
is recommended that a coach inform the umpire when the DP is playing defense for any player to help
avoid this perception of an unreported substitute however, it is not required. In this case, the correct
ruling is that this is a defensive only change and Team A should not receive any warnings.



