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March 20, 2023

NFHS Softball Weekly Rule Interpretations

Situation 1: R1 is on first base and leads off on the pitch. As R1 is returning to 1B, F3 moves toward the
base blocking the front edge of the base causing R1 to alter their path while returning to the base. The
base coach asks the umpire about F3 obstructing R1 and they inform the coach that there is no need to
signal obstruction since R1 obtained the base they would have reached had there not been obstruction.
RULING: Incorrect procedure. Although there may be no award/advancement for this obstructed
runner, obstruction must be called (delayed ball signal and verbal of “obstruction”) every time that a
defender impedes the progress of a runner without possession of the ball or not making an initial play
on a batted ball. Consistency in making this call every time it occurs is critical to enforcement when a
play results in awarding an obstructed runner the base they would have reached had there been no
obstruction. If the umpire does not signal obstruction every time it occurs and only signals when the
runner is put out and then they award that runner a base, the discussion with the defensive coach
becomes much more difficult. This “routine” obstruction signal also does not have to be flashy or
verbalized loudly, however it is necessary to signal so all can see and verbalized just loud enough for the
runner, F3 and possibly the base coach to hear. (8-4-3b PENALTIES)

Situation 2: With R1 on second base and no outs, B2 hits a deep fly ball to left field. As R1 is
approaching home, F7 throws toward home but the throw is offline toward the fence drawing F2 into
R1’s path resulting in contact between the two players. R1 recovers and is able to touch home without
any issue. The plate umpire makes no signal, after the ball is dead the third base coach asks if F2 running
into R1 was obstruction. The plate umpire tells the coach that since R1 was able to continue to home
and score there was nothing. RULING: Incorrect ruling, incorrect procedure. Any time that a fielder not
in possession of the ball or not making an initial play on a batted ball, impedes the progress of a runner
that is legally running the bases obstruction has occurred. In this play, as soon as R1 was impeded (they
slowed down, adjusted their path etc., any reaction R1 had to F2’s position or actions) obstruction
occurred and should be signaled with a delayed dead ball signal and a verbal of “obstruction”. As with
situation 1 above, consistently enforcing the rules by correctly indicating a violation has occurred
(delayed dead ball signal and verbal) every time it happens is critical when the obstruction results in a
runner being awarded a base. (8-4-3b, 8-4-3b Penalties)

Situation 3: With R1 on first base and no outs, B2 hits a deep fly ball to left field. As R1 rounds second
base and is headed to third base they are obstructed by F6. R1 is able to regain their footing and is put
out on a close play sliding into third base, at this point B2 is two steps away from second base. When R1
is put out, the umpire signals and verbalizes, “Dead Ball that was obstruction this runner (pointing to R1)
is awarded third base and that runner (pointing to B2) is awarded second base”. RULING: Correct ruling.
It is umpire judgement as to the base(s) that a runner would have reached had there not been
obstruction. In this case, the umpire judged that R1 would have safely reached third base had there



been no obstruction. Also as detailed in NFHS rules the obstructed runner and each other runner
affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached,

in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. Since R1, the obstructed runner, was put out
prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction a dead ball is
called. This dead ball, which was caused by enforcing the obstruction, affected B2 as they were kept
from reaching second base. Due to B2 being affected by the obstruction they are awarded second base,
the base the umpire judged they would have reached had there not been obstruction. (8-4-3b, 8-4-3b
PENALTIES 1)

Situation 4: With no runners on and the outfield playing shallow, B1 hits a deep fly ball that hits the
outfield fence in flight. As B1 is rounding first base, F3 is standing near the base watching the outfielders
run toward the ball. B1 and F3 collide near first base knocking B1 to the ground with F3 landing on top of
B1; at this point, no fielder has reached the ball in the outfield. It takes several seconds for F3 and B1 to
untangle, when B1 is able to regain their footing the ball is heading toward the infield and B1 returns to
first base. The umpire rules that F3 obstructed B1 but since B1 did not attempt to advance past first
base, the only possible award is first base. RULING: Incorrect ruling. When a runner is obstructed, the
umpire must judge what base the runner would have reached had there not been obstruction. This
judgement is based on a number of factors including the speed of the runner, the location of the ball vs
the defender’s proximity when obstruction occurs, etc. In this play, which base the obstructed runner
returns to, should not factor into the umpire’s judgement of which base they should be awarded. As
stated, the umpire should judge what base the runner would have reached had there not been
obstruction. In this situation with the ball still a ways past the defenders in the outfield and the
obstruction delaying B1 for several seconds, the award is most likely at least second base. If the umpire
judges B1 would have reached third base had there not been obstruction it is well within the rules for
the umpire to award third base. Again, the base the runner would have reached had there not been
obstruction is completely umpire judgement. (8-4-3b, 8-4-3b PENALTIES 3)



