FORFEITS AND BYES

To ensure consistency the correct interpretations below must be followed by all schools in all competitions.

If a wrestler forfeits a match in a dual meet, he does not have to take a loss. For his opponent to receive a
forfeit win, that opponent must appear on the mat for his hand to be raised by the official. Also, if School A is
scheduled to host School B in a dual.... School B cancels.... if the official is present, each wrestler from School
A can receive a forfeit win if he steps on the mat and has his hand raised by the official. School A would also
receive a 1-0 forfeit win. School B must take a team loss but individual wrestlers from School B do not have to
take forfeit (losses). The same procedure could be followed if a team does not show for a dual team
tournament. (NOTE: “official” means the official scheduled to call the match, not an “official” school
representative)

Situation A: Wrestler A weighs in for a tournament competition but prior to competing in the 1% round is
injured and unable to wrestle. How are wins/losses handled? A contestant is considered to be on the
bracket when he makes weigh-in. There for wrestler A’'s opponent would receive a forfeit (win) and wrestler A
must take at least one loss. Wrestler A would also have to take an additional forfeit (loss(es)) for consolation
applicable).

Situation B: Wrestler A weighs in for tournament competition but prior to his competing, for whatever reason,
chooses not to compete. Would his opponent receive a bye or would he receive a forfeit? How are
wins/losses handled? Wrestler A’'s opponent would receive a forfeit (win), and the Wrestler A must take a
forfeit (loss) for the 1 round, and take a additional forfeit (loss(es)) for consolation round(s) (if applicable).

Situation C: Wrestler A weighs-in for tournament competition but, prior to competing, he is disciplined and
removed from competition by his coach. Would his opponent receive a bye or would he receive a forfeit?
Ruling: Wrestler A’s opponent would receive a forfeit (win), and Wrestler A would take a forfeit (loss). If he
forfeit is in the championship round, he would also have to take an additional forfeit (loss(es)) for the
consolation round(s) (if applicable).

Situation D: Wrestler weighs-in in initial weigh-in of tournament. He wrestles one match, leaves to take SAT,
and does not appear on the mat for his 2" round match. Ruling: This wrestler would have to take a forfeit
(loss) for failing to appear for his 2™ round match, and is no longer eligible to continue in the tournament. He
would also have to take an additional forfeit (loss(es)) for the consolation round(s) (if applicable).

Rule 10-3-2
There shall be no byes after the 1 round of competition in both the championship and consolation brackets,
and no further drawing is necessary for championship or consolation rounds.

Situation A: Wrestler A receives a bye in the 1% round of a tournament and, in that same half bracket,
Wrestler B is to wrestle Wrestler C. Wrestler C forfeits the match and, in the 2™ round, Wrestler A should be
wrestling Wrestler B. Wrestler A, however, fails to show up for the 2™ round match. Would Wrestler B receive
a buy in the 2" round or would he win the 2" round match by a forfeit. Ruling: Rule 10-3-1 states that no
byes would carry over to the second round, therefore, Wrestler B would win the 2™ round match by a forfeit.

Rule 10-3-3
When byes are required for the first round, they shall be placed by mutual consent or drawn so they are
distributed evenly throughout the bracket.

Situation: If a wrestler fails to make weight at the first weigh-in of a tournament and the school has no other
entry then you would have a bye in the first round of competition. When this occurs what is the correct
procedure for finalizing the bracket for what weight class? Ruling: When this occurs and the brackets have
already been constructed then the bracket would need to be redrawn so that everyone would have an equal
opportunity to draw for the bye.



