NCADA Hall of Fame Class 8

North Carolina Athletic Directors Association Names Eighth Hall of Fame Class

Induction at Annual State Conference in March

Four members have been named by the North Carolina High School Athletic Directors Association as the eighth class for induction in its own Hall of Fame. 

The new NCADA Hall of Famers include Dick Knox of Chapel Hill, Jack Musten of Winston-Salem, Don Saine of Gastonia and Sue Shinn of High Point. The four will be recognized at the annual North Carolina High School Athletic Directors Association state conference at the Grove Park Inn in Asheville, with the Hall of Fame Dinner scheduled for March 19.

The NCADA Hall of Fame has been established to recognize achievement and excellence for athletic administration. The inductees are honored at the NCADA's annual state convention, and a permanent display honoring the athletic directors' Hall of Fame is located in the offices of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association in Chapel Hill. The new class brings to 38 the number in the Hall.

This year's inductees include:

Dick Knox

Dick Knox, deputy executive director and supervisor of officials for the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, has been on the NCHSAA staff since 1984.

Prior to that, the native of Indianapolis, Indiana, compiled impressive credentials as a teacher and coach as well as a basketball official at the high school and college levels. Among the North Carolina schools at which he worked were Dunn, Jacksonville, Raleigh Enloe, Wilson Fike, Greensboro Smith and Greensboro Grimsley. He was head basketball coach at Dunn and Jacksonville and held head football jobs at the other schools in addition to serving as an athletic director.

He has worked closely with the NCADA during his career and has also distinguished himself by serving on National Federation rules committees in football, basketball, wrestling and baseball, including serving as chairman of the prestigious basketball rules committee.

Knox was inducted in 1991 into the Barton College Sports Hall of Fame.

Jack Musten

A graduate of Kernersville High School, Jack Musten had a distinguished career as a teacher, coach and administrator.

Musten served as head basketball and baseball coach at Glenn High School in Kernersville from 1955-62 and then moved to East Forsyth, where he was head baseball coach from 1962 until '85. He also served as athletic director for six years during that time at East, developing a program for the care and purchase of athletic equipment that saved the school thousands of dollars and was later adopted by other athletic directors. Musten also started a chapter of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes at East Forsyth that is still in existence.

He is a member of several Halls of Fame, including Forsyth County (1985), Glenn High School (1996) and Wingate University Sports Hall of Fame (1993). The new gymnasium at East Forsyth was dedicated in his honor in 1986.

Don Saine

A native of Cherryville, Don Saine was a three-sport standout at Cherryville High School and then played baseball at the University of North Carolina.

He began his teaching and coaching career at Dallas High School in 1962, coaching baseball and football, and then was named head football coach at Hunter Huss in Gastonia. He later became athletic director and head baseball coach at Huss during his 18-year tenure there. Saine's Huss teams won three conference football crowns and six baseball championships. He became the Gaston County athletic director in 1984, a position he held until his retirement in 1999 after 37 total years of service to the school system.

Saine was also an outstanding game official, working basketball for 22 years.

He was named the North Carolina Athletic Director of the Year in 1995-96 and has been active in the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA). Saine has also served as president of the state's City-County Athletic Directors organization.

Sue Shinn

A native of Indiana and graduate of High Point University, Sue Shinn has been at High Point's T.W. Andrews High School since 1981, including serving as athletic director from 1993 to 2000.

She began her career at Griffin Junior High School, where she began the basketball, track and volleyball programs and was the middle school athletic director for five years. Shinn then moved to High Point Andrews where she coached track, basketball and volleyball during her career, winning six conference titles in track and advancing into postseason play in both of the other sports. She coached in the East-West all-star basketball game in 1988 and compiled an excellent 258-98 record as head coach in that sport.

Her school has been a perennial power in the state Wachovia Cup during her tenure at T.W. Andrews.

She is a previous winner of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association female coach of the year award for Region 5 and an NCHSAA Distinguished Service Award.

Honorees in the charter class, inducted in 1995, included NCHSAA executive director Charlie Adams, former Charlotte-Mecklenburg director of athletics Dave Harris, Russ Blunt of Durham's Hillside High School, long-time Greenville Rose athletic director and NCADA executive secretary Richard "Bud" Phillips; former High Point athletic administrator A.J. "Tony" Simeon, and Norma Harbin of Winston-Salem, the first female athletic director at a 4-A school in North Carolina.

Willie Bradshaw of Durham, Mike Brown of Wilmington, Jack Groce of Boone, Red Hoffman of Wilkesboro, Leon Brogden of Wilmington and Homer Thompson of Winston-Salem joined the Hall in 1996. The 1997 inductees included Ruth Pool of Durham, Bill Eutsler of Rockingham, Shu Carlton of Gastonia, Gilbert Ferrell of Wilson and Thell Overman of Wallace, while in '98 the Hall welcomed Jim Blake of Durham, Wat Holyfield of Raleigh, Carroll King of Raleigh, Benny Pearce of Fayetteville, Jerry McGee of Elizabeth City and Dudley Whitley of Rocky Mount. The 1999 inductees were Dave Johnson of Charlotte, Glenn Nixon of Clayton, Bob Sawyer of Greensboro and George Whitfield of Greenville, while in 2000 Don Patrick of Newton-Conover, Bill Carver of Fayetteville and Simon Terrell of Chapel Hill joined the Hall.

Last year's inductees included Carl Bolick of Charlotte, Herman Bryson of Winston-Salem, Ed Peeler of Shelby and Chip Gill of Durham.