Every Seat. Every Time. Seat Belt Pledge

In North Carolina, it's the law to buckle up, no matter where you sit in the vehicle.  Not wearing a seat belt can result in a $179 fine and if a passenger is under the age of 15, the fee rises to $263!

Did you know?

  • More than 10% of front seat drivers and passengrs don't wear their seat belt?
  • A total of 22,441 passenter vehicle occupants died in motor behicle traffic crashes in 2015?
  • More than half (range: 52-59%) of teens (13-19 years) and adults aged 20.44 years who died in crashes in 2015 were unrestrained at the time of the crash?
  • Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for U.S. teens?  Six teens aged 16 to 19 die every day from motor vehicle injries.  Per mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are nearly three times more likely than drivers aged 20 and older to be in a fatal crash.

Don't be a statistic!  Keep North Carolina Safe

Encourage drivers AND passengers to buckle up! Complete the "Every Seat. Every Time." seat belt pledge and promise to wear your seat belt and have your passangers buckle up too!

 

Every Seat. Every Time.
By completing the fields below, I pledge to always wear my seat belt when traveling in a motor vehicle. I also pledge to encourage those riding with me to buckle up. I am committed to buckling up Every Seat. Every Time.